Please, what is the difference between TOKEN and COINS

I am new to the system and i don’t really know the difference

14 Likes

I think COINS are as good as money and can use for payment, while TOKENS, though they have value, they are not considered as money, yet.

11 Likes

Huh I really don’t know the different yet

4 Likes

i think coins are mineable and token is contrect base non mineable use case is same

5 Likes

Token masih dalam airdrop koin sudah dalam market

3 Likes

Coins have their own blockchain (bitcoin, ethereum, tron, etc)
Tokens are basically coins under an already existing blockchain (ex. BNT (ETH), AWC (BNB), WIN (TRX), etc).

10 Likes

Let me explain, suppose you have an asset which was created from scratch (building own algorithm/ architecture/ mining/ consensus etc) like bitcoin in created on SHA-256 algorithm, Ethereum 2.0 will be shift to PoS (proof of stake) etc are commonly known as coin. But if your asset in built under any blockchain like BitTorrent was created in Tron network, Origin Protocol was created under Ethereum (ERC20) network are commonly known as token. Hope you understood.

12 Likes

Imagine that all coins have their own network of computers that are all working together to validate all operations, transfers, blocks creation … Those coins run on their own blockchain. Some of them, blockchains that have smart-contract feature, can issue tokens that will run on their network. Like DeFi tokens on Ethereum which use the ERC20 protocol, they are are like bricks of lego build on top of Ethereum. Tokens are easier to create than coins as infrastructure already exists, developers can focus on their own use case to develop new potential on operating networks.

7 Likes

Nice reply, one of the best I have seen here

2 Likes

Very good explanation in both above comments

2 Likes

Tokens are not only about the payments, they can play different roles. U can often face the phrase “utility token” :slight_smile: